The kimono experiment

img_7266

I  call this the Kimono wearing experiment because the salon we went to had clearly never done with someone as large as I am! They seemed quite entertained about the whole process of putting the kimono on me. And i got a kick out of the whole process.

We went to a local salon, where they picked out different styles and colors for us.  The older women at the salon we’re very excited to have a bunch of non-Japanese women come in for kimono wearing.

They weren’t quite prepared for some of us having different shapes and sizes 🙂 Now – i thought –  this was going to be fun!

 

img_8487

One of the key issues is that in a kimono you to have a straight with a flat profile -> no curves allowed!

Two staff, one assistant and 5 small towels wrapped around my waist later — the women had achieved their goal I was  tied in and straightened out! 🙂

This is definitely something worth doing when one visits Japan. Just the process was worth it!img_8464

If you live here it’s like a vacation away not far away from home. Gives you different feeling,  a different perspective. Yes. it might be hot or  a little bit tight but it was much more comfortable than I thought.  But mine did not seem to be as tight as the others – I had no problem eating or walking around – even though the Ukon geta (traditional sandals) were a bit too small. It was warm but with it being a cool October it was fine.

img_7274

First thing we did when we were all done was take  some beautiful pictures  together. You can see what gorgeous colors were selected for us and how different the patterns are. I got the modern one.

I have been in Japan for more than 20 years and i have never worn a kimono.

Yes.  Really.

I just have never had the opportunity maybe because there is little in my life that is traditional.

We got to enjoy the day sampling festival food and snacks in kimono.

The best part to me was just walking down the street going to different shops getting some food and people coming up and talking to me or looking at me  with a kind of surprised look and asking me questions.

img_8565

That’s lots of fun. I really like just talking to people for the first time.

Maybe those little Grandmas need a bit more practice and more varied kimonos if they are going to appeal to Western size tourists.

But that was part of the fun for me – a first for all of us!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment